EURIZON detector school (17-28 juillet 2023)

UPDATE: The EURIZON school on particle detector technologies, initially foreseen in Kutaisi Georgia, was relocated. It will take place at the University of Wuppertal, Germany on July 17-28, 2023.

The school for young scientists on particle detector technologies will take place at Kutaisi International University (KIU) at the University of Wuppertal, Germany, on July 17-28, 2023. The school is organized in the framework of the EURIZON project supported by the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme. The working language of the school is English.

The EURIZON Detector School is organized for training young scientists on state-of-the-art particle detection technologies in the fields of particle-, heavy-ion- and neutron-physics. The main program of the school comprises morning lectures by world experts in their fields, and hands-on exercises on various technologies in the afternoons. Social activities are organised during evenings and on the weekend.

The preliminary list of lecture topics:

  • Calorimetry
  • Characterization of detectors
  • Communication in science, presentation skills
  • Evolution on working detector systems from R&D to construction, operation and performance
  • Gaseous detectors
  • Neutron detectors
  • Non-collider detectors
  • Particle identification
  • Photon detection
  • Quantum sensing
  • Readout- FPGA- trigger- DAQ- synchronization
  • Silicon detectors
  • Tracking

The school will also include practical courses that will allow the students to put their hands on various detectors and test them under the supervision of experts.

Students will be given opportunity to present their work. This activity will connect closely with the science communication tutorial.

International organizing committee

Lucie Linssen, Eva Sicking (CERN); Simon Spannagel (DESY); Francesco Piscitelli (ESS); Jürgen Eschke, Irakli Keshelashvili, Christian J. Schmidt (GSI); Marcello Abbrescia, Nicola De Filippis (INFN-Bari), Gianluigi Cibinetto (INFN-Ferrara), Gianni Bencivenni (INFN-Frascati), Margherita Primavera (INFN-Lecce); Michael Düren, Marc Strickert (JLU Giessen); Mustafa Schmidt (Univ. Wuppertal).

Local organizing committee

Irakli Keshelashvili, David Mchedlishvili, Levan Kankadze, Gvantsa Gabatashvili, Levan Zaalishvili, Levan Kopaliani, David Dvali, Vakhtang Tsagareli (KIU).

This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation programme under Grant Agreement No 871072.

Current Issue
Newsletter Issue